Christmas Writing

My husband collects books about Christmas. They range from I Spy Christmas to Christmas in Plains by Jimmy Carter to A Newbery Christmas, a collection of short stories by Newbery award winning authors. Christmas has a way of capturing the imagination and creating rich feelings in us. My favourite in the collection is  Angels and Other Strangers by Katherine Paterson.

Paterson is a pastor’s wife, and she has written these stories for their congregation. The stories are poignant and moving- so much so, that when I read them aloud to my family at home I sometimes cannot speak for the emotion in my throat. What she gives us is Christmas stories that are not tidy and perfect, but ones that show the messiness of life and how even dark places can have hope because of the birth of our Saviour Jesus. I highly recommend her book, if you can find it . Our copy was published in 1979.

And now to Christmas story writing of my own. In the news business, it is very busy right now covering Christmas events. Most events are well attended, and people are enthusiastic, and I consider it a joy to highlight these good things of my community.

I encourage you to read a good Christmas book this season!

One thought on “Christmas Writing

  1. Hey, Brenda, we have that Katherine Patterson book, too. My kids still think its funny when I get all choked up when I’m reading. It happened again the other night…

    I pulled “A Christmas Carol” out of our Christmas book basket yesterday, and really enjoyed the start of it. Looking forward to continuing with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

